Wildlife in the Garden

With summer fast approaching, the wildlife is beginning to show itself. The ‘roos are around all year but they are not the only resident locals that we share our few acres with.

We have a skink – at least one – which sleeps on the windowsills some days, spends the heat of the day in the shade-house and checks out the workshop from time to time. But they could all be different skinks. They all look alike to me.  We found three baby skinks under some bark at the wood-heap once so replaced it carefully and tiptoed off to do something else. Our friend has seen a skink with its babies on its back which is something else I didn’t know about them.

Baby skinks (above)

There is a racehorse goanna in the garden and we sometimes see him (or another) down the paddock. The little birds get all atwitter, Herc (the sheep) picks up on the vibes that something is up (but he can’t work out what) so he starts yelling for his Mum and Dad (that’s Vin and me).

And we have a sleepy lizard.

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Articles

4 responses to “Wildlife in the Garden

  1. I am fascinated by the skinks! I’ve never seen,heard of one. Are they gentle?

    • They are certainly not aggressive but they are very timid. Sorry I haven’t replied sooner but I forget my password then got into a dreadful muddle with the whole site. I gave up for years but have got it all sorted again and look forward to posting more in the near future.

  2. Hello tere
    I have never been to Australia but after reading your post, i feel i may need to make arrangement to visit,your country has so much to offer.
    What worry me is the distance,i have never flown more than 8 hours.
    Thanks so much for a very well written post

    • Hi there

      I lost my password years ago and have only just managed to get the whole thing sorted out again. We are off overseas tomorrow but once I return I hope to be posting more regularly. So sorry about not getting it sorted sooner. Have you been to Australia yet?

Leave a Reply

